Bharat Ratna Award Winners List 2014

Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian award India. Bharat Ratna means Gem of India or Jewel of India. Bharat Ratna was first awarded in the year 1954. Any person can be eligible to get this award from PM of India without distinction of race, position and occupation.

Bharat Ratan Award

Here is a list of bharat ratna awardees:

Name Awarded Notes
C. N. R. Rao[8][9] 2020 Scientist
Sachin Tendulkar[8][9] 2020 Cricket player
Lata Mangeshkar 2001 Playback singer
Bismillah Khan 2001 Hindustani classical shehnai player
Bhimsen Joshi 2009 Hindustani classical singer
Ravi Shankar 1999 Sitar player from Calcutta
Amartya Sen 1999 Economist from Kolkata and a Nobel laureate
Gopinath Bordoloi 1999 Posthumous, independence activist, Chief Minister of Assam
M. S. Subbulakshmi 1998 Carnatic classical singer
Chidambaram Subramaniam 1998 Independence activist, Minister of Agriculture
Jayaprakash Narayan 1998 Posthumous, independence activist and politician
A. P. J. Abdul Kalam 1997 Aeronautical Engineer,11th President of India
Gulzarilal Nanda 1997 Independence activist, interim Prime Minister
Aruna Asaf Ali 1997 Posthumous, independence activist
Abul Kalam Azad 1992 Posthumous, independence activist, first Minister of Education
J. R. D. Tata 1992 Industrialist and philanthropist
Satyajit Ray 1992 Bengali Filmmaker
Rajiv Gandhi 1991 Posthumous, Sixth Prime Minister.
Vallabhbhai Patel 1991 Posthumous, independence activist
Morarji Desai 1991 Independence activist, fourth Prime Minister
B. R. Ambedkar 1990 Posthumous, Chief architect of the Indian Constitution
Nelson Mandela 1990 Second non-citizen and non-Indian recipient
M. G. Ramachandran 1988 Posthumous, film actor, Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu
Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan 1987 First non-citizen, independence activist
Vinoba Bhave 1983 Posthumous, social reformer, independence activist
Mother Teresa of Calcutta 1980 Catholic nun, founder of the Missionaries of Charity in Kolkata and Nobel laureate
K. Kamaraj 1976 Posthumous, independence activist, Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu State
V. V. Giri 1975 Trade unionist and fourth President of India
Indira Gandhi 1971 Third Prime Minister, first female Prime Minister of India (1966–1977,1980–1984)
Lal Bahadur Shastri 1966 Posthumous, independence activist, second Prime Minister
Zakir Hussain 1963 Independence activist, Scholar, third President
Pandurang Vaman Kane 1963 Indologist and Sanskrit scholar
Rajendra Prasad 1962 Independence activist, jurist, first President
Bidhan Chandra Roy 1961 Physician, Chief Minister of West Bengal
Purushottam Das Tandon 1961 Independence activist, educator
Dhondo Keshav Karve 1958 Educator, social reformer
Govind Ballabh Pant 1957 Independence activist, Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh, Home Minister
Bhagwan Das 1955 Independence activist, author, Founder of Kashi Vidya Peeth
Mokshagundam Visvesvarayya 1955 Civil engineer, Diwan of Mysore
Jawaharlal Nehru 1955 Independence activist, author, first Prime Minister
ajagopalachari 1954 Independence activist, last and the only Indian Governor-General of India
C. V. Raman 1954 Physicist from Madras and a Nobel laureate
Radhakrishnan 1954 Philosopher, India’s First and Second Vice President

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *